Boy Playing

Soy Free Diet

AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
  • Miso
  • Shoyo Sauce
  • Soy Flour
  • Soy Grits
  • Soy Milk
  • Soy Nuts
  • Soy Protein
  • Soy Protein Concentrate
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Soy Sauce
  • Tempeh
  • Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP)
  • Tofu
Ingredients that MAY indicate the presence of soy protein:
  • Flavorings
  • Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
  • Natural Flavoring
  • Vegetable Broth
  • Vegetable Gum
  • Vegetable Starch
Studies show that most soy allergic individuals may safely eat products that contain soy lecithin and soy oils. These substances are fat based, and persons with allergies react to the protein portion of the food. 

Contact the company to identify the natural flavoring in foods. Ask if they use soy as a carrier protein for the natural flavoring.
  • Flavorings may be soy based
  • Hydrolyzed plant and hydrolyzed vegetable protein are likely to be soy
  • Contact the company to identify the vegetable broths, gums, and starches, as they have the potential to be soy.